I saw this super fun idea in the Arts & Crafts weekly newsletter from The Mailbox Magazine this past weekend. Making this craft was especially fun since we got to experiment with a new product that we hadn’t used before. All you need is 3 small paper plates, 1 large craft stick, Green Project Paint (we received ours compliments of our friends at CraftProjectIdeas.com), gold glitter and some glue.

 

I asked my 2nd grader after school if he would make a craft with me and after I told him spray painting was involved he was one happy camper! We decided to paint our paper plates and craft sticks out in the garage with some cardboard underneath them. I tried out the project paint first to show him how far away to hold it from the paper plates and then I let my son have at it. It was so easy to use, and super quick. My son was wishing there were 100 more paper plates to paint because it was so much fun. After painting the plates, we sprinkled gold glitter all over them while the paint was still wet.

After the plates and craft stick are completely dry, it’s time to assemble the shamrock. Start by gluing down the front two paper paper plates overlapping slightly (see picture above), then glue the remaining paper plate in the back between the two front plates. Lastly, glue or tape (we used tape) the craft stick stem to the back of the shamrock. Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy! Here’s a peek at the book we read this week to go along with this craft:

 

There Was An Old Lady Who Swallowed A Clover by Lucille Colandro

The lovely old lady has returned just in time for St. Patrick’s Day. Now she’s swallowing colorful items to make the perfect rainbow to hide a pot of gold. I always get nervous about this series because of the whole dying thing, but in this version the old lady does not die. At the end of the story she basically “throws up a rainbow” as my 6yr old put it. Ha!

 

We also made Bubble Wrap Rainbow Prints to go along with this story. Click HERE if you missed it.

 

I saw this super fun idea in the Arts & Crafts weekly newsletter from The Mailbox Magazine this past weekend. Making this craft was especially fun since we got to experiment with a new product that we hadn’t used before. All you need is 3 small paper plates, 1 large craft stick, Green Project Paint (we received ours compliments of our friends at CraftProjectIdeas.com), gold glitter and some glue.

 

I asked my 2nd grader after school if he would make a craft with me and after I told him spray painting was involved he was one happy camper! We decided to paint our paper plates and craft sticks out in the garage with some cardboard underneath them. I tried out the project paint first to show him how far away to hold it from the paper plates and then I let my son have at it. It was so easy to use, and super quick. My son was wishing there were 100 more paper plates to paint because it was so much fun. After painting the plates, we sprinkled gold glitter all over them while the paint was still wet.

After the plates and craft stick are completely dry, it’s time to assemble the shamrock. Start by gluing down the front two paper paper plates overlapping slightly (see picture above), then glue the remaining paper plate in the back between the two front plates. Lastly, glue or tape (we used tape) the craft stick stem to the back of the shamrock. Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy! Here’s a peek at the book we read this week to go along with this craft:

 

There Was An Old Lady Who Swallowed A Clover by Lucille Colandro

The lovely old lady has returned just in time for St. Patrick’s Day. Now she’s swallowing colorful items to make the perfect rainbow to hide a pot of gold. I always get nervous about this series because of the whole dying thing, but in this version the old lady does not die. At the end of the story she basically “throws up a rainbow” as my 6yr old put it. Ha!

 

We also made Bubble Wrap Rainbow Prints to go along with this story. Click HERE if you missed it.

 

I saw this super fun idea in the Arts & Crafts weekly newsletter from The Mailbox Magazine this past weekend. Making this craft was especially fun since we got to experiment with a new product that we hadn’t used before.

All you need is 3 small paper plates, 1 large craft stick, Green Project Paint (we received ours compliments of our friends at CraftProjectIdeas.com), gold glitter and some glue.

 

I asked my 2nd grader after school if he would make a craft with me and after I told him spray painting was involved he was one happy camper! We decided to paint our paper plates and craft sticks out in the garage with some cardboard underneath them. I tried out the project paint first to show him how far away to hold it from the paper plates and then I let my son have at it. It was so easy to use, and super quick. My son was wishing there were 100 more paper plates to paint because it was so much fun. After painting the plates, we sprinkled gold glitter all over them while the paint was still wet.

After the plates and craft stick are completely dry, it’s time to assemble the shamrock. Start by gluing down the front two paper paper plates overlapping slightly (see picture above), then glue the remaining paper plate in the back between the two front plates. Lastly, glue or tape (we used tape) the craft stick stem to the back of the shamrock.

Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy!

Here’s a peek at the book we read this week to go along with this craft:

There Was An Old Lady Who Swallowed A Clover by Lucille Colandro

The lovely old lady has returned just in time for St. Patrick’s Day. Now she’s swallowing colorful items to make the perfect rainbow to hide a pot of gold. I always get nervous about this series because of the whole dying thing, but in this version the old lady does not die. At the end of the story she basically “throws up a rainbow” as my 6yr old put it. Ha!

We also made Bubble Wrap Rainbow Prints to go along with this story. Click HERE if you missed it.